Bilasipara Sub-division at a glance

Office INTRODUCTION: Bilasipara Sub-Division, was created in 1989 under Dhubri District, is bounded by Kokrajhar District in the North, Goalpara District and South Salmara Sub-Division of Dhubri District in the South, Bongaigaon District in the East and Dhubri Sadar Sub-Division in the West.

Geography: The Sub-Division lies between Latitudes 26.220 to 25.280 (N) and Longitudes 89.420 to 90.120 (E) and Elevation 30 meter from MSL. The larger portion of the Sub-Division is a level plain through the extreme Southern part through which flows the mighty River Brahmaputra from East to West. The mighty river Brahmaputra is met in this stretch of its sea-ward journey by several tributaries like Champabati, Gaurang Tipkai and Shonkosh etc. There are some isolated hills like Chakrashila range, Chandardinga range, Sonamukhi, Tokrabandha and Mahamaya hills in the Sub-Division. Many parts in the Northern boundary with Kokrajhar District are covered with hilly terrain and most of the Southern parts are Char areas. These areas are facing continuous erosion and a substantial number of its population is gradually migrating to other parts of the Sub-Division. Char areas of the Sub-Division are mostly inhabited by the Muslim community and they are mainly depending on Agriculture / Fishing and daily wages labours. Maximum people of char areas are illiterate and of below poverty line.

Climate: The average temperature is moderate; having in a range of about 840 F (290 C) starting from June onwards. However, due to fast change in ecological balance, the climate too changes time to time. Another significant natural phenomenon is the regular occurrence of devastating flood in the district, causing enormous damage.

a) Population: As per the census of 2011, Bilasipara Sub-Division has a population of 549, 606 consisting of 281,130 Males and 268, 476 Females (including BTAD area). Among the Revenue Circles of the Sub-Division Bilasipara Revenue Circle is the largest in area and supports the largest population. The total urban population of Bilasipara Sub-Division is 103, 400.
b) Language & Dialects: Assamese is the pre-dominant language while the next important language is Bengali. Third comes the Bodo speakers and there is a sizable number of people who speaks Hindi and Santhali as their mother tongues. There are a sizeable number of people who use Koch Rajbongshi as their mother tongue. A small section of people speak Nepali, Rabha etc.
c) Religion: The religious life of the Sub-Division is pre-dominated by Hindus and Muslims. A small section of people belong to Christians, Jains, Sikhs etc.
d) Castes and Classes: Though casteism is a special feature of the Hindu Social system, it has lost its significance in the modern context.
There are several castes in the Sub-Division among Hindus, namely Brahmins, Ganakas, Kayastha, Kalitas, Jugis, Koch Rajbongshis etc. Various other professional castes viz Sonaris (Gold-Smith), Baniyas (Traders), Tantis (Weavers) Dhobas (Washerman), Napits (Barbers), Kamars (Black-smiths) Kumars (Potters) and a number of other castes like Sutradhars (Carpenters), Goalas, Nadiyals (fishermen) are present in the Sub-Division. However most of these people have now shifted to agriculture and business as their main occupation.
e) Relationship among the ethnic groups: The relationship among the various ethnic groups seems to be cordial and all the groups are apparently maintaining a relationship of mutual understanding. Though, various organizations of Koch Rajbongshis are demanding a separate Kamatapur State, they are also maintaining a good relationship with other ethnic groups in the Sub-Division.

Geographical area 988.68 Sq. KM
Population Density 584 Nos. per Sq.KM
Revenue Circle 1. Bilasipara
2. Chapar
Development Blocks 1. Mahamaya Dev. Block
2. Bilasipara Dev. Block, Raniganj
3. Nayeralga Dev. Block
4. Chapar-Salkocha Dev. Block
ICDS Projects 4 nos.
Char Dev. Projects Nayeralga
H.P. Constituencies Part of 04- Dhubri H.P.C.
L.A. Constituencies 1. 26- Bilasipara West LAC
2. 27- Bilasipara East LAC
Zilla Parishad Constituencies 7 nos.
Anchalik Panchayats 4 nos.
Gaon Panchayat 43 nos.
Police Stations 3 nos.
Fire Stations 3 nos.
Revenue Villages 469 nos.
No. of Towns 1. Bilasipara
2. Chapar
3. Sapatgram
Literacy percentage 68%
ICDS Projects 4 nos.